Animal Parts have raced out of the gates with three releases in 14 months. Quickly breaking Top-20 on numerous radio charts spanning the United States and Canada, and covered by SPIN and Diffuser, AP have garnered attention around the globe and have emerged as charming underdogs of todays indie folk circuit. The band now boasts three albums, Animal Parts (2012), Other Rooms EP (08/19/13), and Six Arms To Hold You EP (10/22/13), bringing in a parade of Canadian guest artists, such as Bahamas, Doug Paisley, Justin Rutledge, Daniela Gesundheit (Snowblink), and Raven Shields (Dear Sister). Trending away from the status-quo, Other Rooms EP and Six Arms To Hold You EP are both vinyl/digital only releases. “I have gone through a few moves in the past years,” explains songwriter/frontman Joshua Cockerill, “and realized my CD collection was the only thing I never unpacked. My vinyl, on the other hand, came out first.” To shoot the matching album covers, Cockerill and a friend broke into an abandoned Ontario farm house and shot two different rooms of the derelict building for the respective covers. The band consists of Cockerill on guitars/vox, Matt Bailey on guitars, Aaron Comeau on keys, Devon Henderson on bass, and Rich Knox on drums. Keep an eye ever fixed on the mangroves; Animal Parts may be blowing through a microphone near you.

Prior to forming Animal Parts in 2010, Cockerill’s debut, The Trick With Your Heart I’m Learning To Do (2009), was released under his given name. He performed with Ian Tyson, Serena Ryder, NQ Arbuckle, and has been invited to perform at the Mariposa Folk Festival, Shelter Island Festival, Dauphin Countryfest, and North Country Fair. Cockerill has also writing a book, Hungry Music (2012), containing lyrics and poetry.